West Virginia
Driving Practice Test

If you want to operate a motor vehicle in West Virginia, you’ll need to go through the entire permitting process. That means passing the WV permit test an working your way up to passing the WV driving test to earn your license. If you want to drive the winding roads of West Virginia you’ll need to prepare to pass the tests, which you’ll be able to do with our WV DMV practice tests. Many people fail on their first try during their driving test, don’t add your name to that list. Prepare yourself with our full array of tests. Our tests are designed to replicate the same types of questions you’ll see on the driver’s knowledge test, including road signs and West Virginia traffic laws. We can help you whether you’re looking to earn your West Virginia’s learner’s permit, driver’s license, motorcycle license or CDL. Our tests are completely free, so feel free to take them as often as you’d like. You will be presented with 25 questions and you must answer 19 questions correctly to pass.  There is no time limit.  You may not go back once you answer a question.  Click the “Start Quiz” button below to begin.  Good luck!

Below Test Ad Block

West Virginia Drivers Test

West Virginia Motorcycle Test

West Virginia CDL Test

Quick Links Link Unit

Drivers License

How To Get A West Virginia Drivers License

West Virginia has a three-step graduated driver’s license program. To obtain your learner’s permit, you must be 15 years old and present to the DMV in person. Your parent or guardian has to co-sign the Application for a Driver’s License or Photo ID Card. You have to bring these items along as well: proof of school enrollment, proof of identity, proof of school enrollment, and a $5 permit fee. You have to pass a vision exam, and a 25 question written knowledge test with at least 19 correct.
The WV DMV does offer special accommodations like a separate testing room, oral test, and tests in different languages, but these have to be set up ahead of time. If you fail, you must wait five days to retake the test and pay a $3.00 fee. Once you pass, you are only allowed to drive with an adult who is 21 years old or older, and whose license is in good standing. You must drive and log 50 practice hours, with 10 being at night.
To obtain your intermediate license, you have to be 16 years old, completed your driving hours, and had your permit for a minimum of six months. If you’ve accomplished that, present to the DMV in person and fill out the 50-Hour Certification Log for Driver’s License Application Under Age 18, and schedule your road skills test. Next, pass your skills test, provide proof of identity, provide proof of school enrollment, surrender your learner’s permit, and finally pay the $5 intermediate driver’s license fee.
To obtain your unrestricted driver’s license, you must be at least 17 years old. You have to have your intermediate license for one year and have no traffic violations in that year. Go to your local DMV and surrender your intermediate license and pay the $2.50 fee. This fee reoccurs every year until you turn 21.
If you’re new to the state, you have 30 days to transfer your license. You must go to the DMV in person and surrender your old license. You will have to pass a vision exam, and if your license is expired, pass a written and road skills exam. Bring the required proof of identity, Social Security number, and residency. Finally, pay the $15 fee.

Pass The Test

How To Pass the West Virginia Driver’s License Test

There’s an almost endless list of advice for people taking the driving test for the first time, but these are some tried and true methods that can help you succeed when your test day arrives.

  • Get behind the wheel as often as you can. The more comfortable you get taking practice tests for your permit, driver’s license and road test, the more mentally prepared you’ll be when exam day comes.
  • Read, and re-read the West Virginia driver’s handbook. This should be your number one resource for any questions you have on driving laws and requirements for gaining your driver’s license. Even the best online resources may leave some out of date information online, so make sure you have the current year’s driver’s handbook to double check any information you think may be questionable online.
Second Content Inline Ad
  • It’s the oldest cliche in the book but get some rest the night before your exam. Being tired can only hurt your performance, so don’t let that happen. The same goes with making sure you have something to eat. Being hungry is a distraction that you can’t afford when you’re trying to pass your driving test.
  • Don’t panic if you come to a question you don’t know the answer to. Remember, you don’t need to answer every question correctly, you just need to pass. So if you run into a question or two that you’re not sure of, do your best to eliminate obviously wrong answers and make an educated guess.

Additional Information

West Virginia DMV Information

For information on your driver’s license status in the state of West Virginia, or to review your driving record, or find information on a WV driver license renewal, follow the link below.

Website:  ttps://transportation.wv.gov/dmv/Pages/default.aspx
Phone:  800.642.9066
Email:  driverlicenseinfo@alea.gov

To find West Virginia DMV hours and/or the location nearest you, use the branch locator on their website here.

More West Virginia Driving Test & Driver’s License Helpful Links

Please use the links below to learn more about helpful topics related to the West Virginia driver’s license test or other West Virginia driver’s license related topics.