Michigan
Driving Practice Test

51

Earning a driving license in the state of Michigan is a right of passage in the state that is the heart and soul of the American auto industry. But before you can head to your local Secretary of State branch to pick up your license you’ll need to study up and prepare to pass both the written knowledge test as well as the road skills test. This site is focused on helping you prepare for the written portion of the Michigan permit test and driving segment 2 tests with questions similar to what you’ll find on the actual exam. We provide a number of different tests that will help you identify traffic signs and give you a solid understanding of Michigan traffic laws. The actual Michigan driving test is a 50 question permit test which requires 40 questions correctly answered to pass. Once your have completed the requirements for the Michigan learner’s permit, you are eligible to take the segment 2 driving test. Take any of our free Michigan DMV practice driving tests below as often as you like as you prepare for your big day taking the written permit test. There is no time limit.  You may not go back once you answer a question.  Click the “Start Test” button below to begin.  Good luck!

1 / 50

Parking a vehicle is not allowed _____ of a fire hydrant.

2 / 50

At a railroad crossing, trains must be given the right-of-way in the following situations:

3 / 50

Which of the following driving practices is illegal in the state of Michigan?

4 / 50

You may drive an unregistered vehicle to its first place of storage within how many days of purchase the vehicle?

5 / 50

What Bodily Alcohol Content (BAC) automatically triggers a one-year suspension even upon a first offense?

6 / 50

To prepare for anything coming up in the road ahead of you, you should:

7 / 50

Blind pedestrians with a cane or guide dog:

8 / 50

Yellow hazard lights on a school bus mean that you should:

9 / 50


What does this sign mean?

10 / 50

Lighting a cigarette and smoking while driving:

11 / 50


This special traffic sign directs the driver to:

12 / 50

A triangular orange sign that is on the back of a slow-moving vehicle indicates that:

13 / 50

Which of the following is NOT a parking violation?

14 / 50


This road sign means:

15 / 50

For a commercial driver's license, you must not have had any seizures, blackouts, or fainting spells, within the last:

16 / 50


This sign indicates:

17 / 50

Two solid yellow lines mean no passing. Do not drive to the left of these lines unless:

18 / 50

You must utilize your headlights between:

19 / 50

When conducting a left turn at an intersection, you must give the right-of-way to:

20 / 50


This sign means:

21 / 50

When starting to turn, you must give a signal at least _________ ahead of where you plan to turn.

22 / 50

Hydroplaning is usually caused by:

23 / 50

What is the minimum amount of supervised driving teens must complete as part of the GDL program?

24 / 50

If you are convicted of driving 20 mph over the posted speed limit, it will result in the following points on your driving record:

25 / 50

When you are approaching a railroad crossing and a train is coming, you must stop _________ from the tracks.

26 / 50

While driving, you must maintain_________ in bad weather (e.g. when it is foggy).

27 / 50

If your vehicle starts skidding, remain calm and do the following:

28 / 50

The stopping distance for a commercial vehicle when it is traveling at 55 mph is:

29 / 50

When driving on a slippery surface such as snow or ice, you should:

30 / 50

You may proceed carefully against a yellow light if:

31 / 50

What is the background color of the Wrong Way sign?

32 / 50

A driver must yield the right-of-way to other vehicles in all of the following situations, EXCEPT:

33 / 50

Which of the following is known to trigger aggressive driving?

34 / 50

On a two-lane freeway, drive in the right lane, with the exception of the following situations:

35 / 50

Before turning left, it is critical to:

36 / 50

Drivers who eat and drink while driving:

37 / 50

When solid white lines separate lanes of traffic moving in the same direction, crossing a solid white line is:

38 / 50

A traffic officer is directing you to do a U-turn against existing signs. What should you do?

39 / 50

Under Michigan law, it is illegal to leave children less than ____ unattended in a vehicle if the amount of time or circumstances in which they are left poses an unreasonable risk of harm or injury.

40 / 50


This sign tells you that:

41 / 50

You are at an intersection, look in your mirrors and see an emergency vehicle with flashing lights behind you. What should you do?

42 / 50

Anything that requires you to _______ could cause you to crash.

43 / 50

What should you do when you see a pedestrian with a guide dog in your lane?

44 / 50


This red and black sign means:

45 / 50

When exiting a freeway, you should:

46 / 50

You approach a vehicle from behind. It is keeping a very low speed. What should you do?

47 / 50

If you are convicted of disobeying a school crossing guard, it will result in a driver responsibility fee of:

48 / 50

It is illegal to use ___ for passing a vehicle.

49 / 50

Yield lines are found at roundabout intersections and mid-block crosswalks to:

50 / 50


When you see a sign with this shape and color (with or without words), you must:

Your score is

The average score is 73%

Below Test Ad Block
4.9/5 - (10 votes)
Quick Links Link Unit

Drivers License

How To Get A Michigan Drivers License

Michigan’s graduated driver’s licensing (GDL) is on two levels. The first level is to obtain a Michigan learner’s permit from the Secretary of State. Driver’s Ed is required for all drivers in Michigan under the age of 18. Segment 1 of Michigan driver’s Ed includes 24 hours of classroom, 6 hours of driving, 4 hours of observing in the vehicle, and completion of the segment 1 written portion of the Michigan permit test. If you have completed segment 1 and have had your learner’s permit for at least 3 months, you may begin segment 2. Segment 2 consists of 6 hours of classroom instruction and segment 2 of the Michigan written driving test.

Michigan’s graduated driver’s licensing (GDL) is on two levels. The first level is to obtain a Michigan learner’s permit from the Secretary of State. Driver’s Ed is required for all drivers in Michigan under the age of 18. Segment 1 of Michigan driver’s Ed includes 24 hours of classroom, 6 hours of driving, 4 hours of observing in the vehicle, and completion of the segment 1 written portion of the Michigan permit test. If you have completed segment 1 and have had your learner’s permit for at least 3 months, you may begin segment 2. Segment 2 consists of 6 hours of classroom instruction and segment 2 of the Michigan written driving test.

 

To get your Michigan learner’s permit, you must be at least 14 years and 9 months old and your parent or legal guardian must accompany you to one of the Michigan Secretary of State locations. There you will need to provide proof of identity such as a birth certificate, social security, residency, and the segment 1 driver’s education completion certificate. If moving to Michigan from out of state with an out-of-state learner’s permit, you will also need to take the original operator license test. It’s a 40 question test and the fee is $25.

After you have your level 1 permit for 3 months and have driven for 30 hours, including 2 night hours, and have passed your Michigan learner’s permit test, you can move on to level 2. Level 2 is an intermediate license or provisional license. You are not allowed to drive between 10pm and 5am unless it’s school, work or sports event related or you’re with a parent or guardian. You are also not allowed to have more than one non-family passenger under the age of 21. At age 17, after having the level 2 provisional license for 6 months, all GDL restrictions are lifted and you have a full Michigan driver’s license.

Pass The Test

How To Pass the Michigan permit Driver's License Test

If you’re concerned about how you’ll perform when your learners permit test day arrives, here are some tips that may prove useful as you prepare:

  • Practice, practice, practice. This means you should know the Michigan written permit driving test study guide in and out. Download the Michigan drivers manual below and make sure you spend plenty of time with it before the written and road test to make sure you know your road signs and rules of the road.
  • Practice like you’ll be tested. If possible drive the same car and in the same area where you’ll be tested on exam day. If you’re familiar with the vehicle, speed limits, and potential hazards you’ll be much more comfortable and less prone to making silly mistakes.

Second Content Inline Ad

  • Give your car an inspection the night before the exam - make sure the windshield and windows are clean, adjust your mirrors and check the AC, turn signal, wipers, lights, defrost, emergency brake, horn and hazard lights to make sure they’re all in functional condition.
  • Gather up all of your necessary paperwork like your proof of registration, insurance and permit the night before the exam and have them ready to go so you’re not scrambling to find them in the morning.

Additional Information

Michigan Secretary of State Information

To schedule a driving skills test, you’ll need to contact the Michigan Department of State (Michigan Secretary of State) using the contact information below.

Website: https://www.michigan.gov/sos

Phone: 888.767.6424

To find Michigan Secretary of State hours and/or the location nearest you, use our branch locator here:  https://drivingtestsample.com/dmv-locations/michigan/

More Michigan Driving Test & Drivers License Helpful Links

Please use the links below to learn more about helpful topics related to the Michigan drivers license test or other Michigan drivers license related topics.