Florida
Permit Practice Test

7

Looking to get behind the wheel in the sunshine state? To earn your driver’s permit in Florida you must pass the Florida learner’s permit test, otherwise known as the Class E Knowledge Exam. Florida offers an online exam for people under 18 if they are accompanied by a parent during the exam. This website provides you with the opportunity to take a free Florida practice permit test to help you prepare for the Class E written test or the final Florida driving test to earn your license. Our practice test consists of 50 multiple choice questions, click the "Start Test" button below to begin.

1 / 50

You must file a car crash report with Florida Department of Transportation within _________ if the crash results in property of $500 or more and the crash is not investigated by the police

2 / 50

To improve your safety when driving at night it is best to:

3 / 50

A flashing yellow light indicates:

4 / 50

Which of the following is not a proper use of a turn signal?

5 / 50

______ years is the minimum drinking age in Florida

6 / 50

Your braking distance increases by ______ when you double your speed on the highway

7 / 50

If your vehicle breaks down on the highway, you should:

8 / 50

You can be fined up to how much if you dump more than 15 pounds of trash?

9 / 50

You should stop at an intersection with a stop sign and:

10 / 50

To avoid carbon monoxide poisoning you should

11 / 50

_________ so you can stop your vehicle safely when your ability to see ahead is affected by rain, snow, or ice

12 / 50

Do NOT __________ until the way is clear from the overtaken vehicle while passing on the left side at a safe distance

13 / 50

Tampering with your emissions control devices ____________

14 / 50

It is illegal for any person 21 years or older to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of ____ or higher

15 / 50

When there are double solid yellow lines of the road separating two lanes of traffic, they indicate

16 / 50

To get a Florida license you most have __ proofs of address

17 / 50

You must not drive in a lane with this signal

18 / 50

A driver should be extra alert for motorcyclists, bicycles, and pedestrians because:

19 / 50

What should you do if on the highway your vehicle hits an unattended vehicle?

20 / 50

A bad habit that was discussed in the Florida DMV Handbook that some people may develop when driving is:

21 / 50

If you stop at a railroad crossing with more than one track:

22 / 50

An arrow that is flashing yellow indicates

23 / 50

You should _____ when you plan to exit a controlled-access highway

24 / 50

A driver must slow down or stop for pedestrians within _____ when there are no traffic control signals

25 / 50

You should _____ if your car breaks down on the highway

26 / 50

Slow traffic shall remain in the _____ lane when on a highway with 4 or more lanes

27 / 50

Passing is prohibited

28 / 50

What is the maximum amount of light that any treatment on your side windows can reflect?

29 / 50

If a railroad track has no signals or gates, you should ____ when you are in a line of traffic that is crossing the tracks

30 / 50

If there is no way to avoid a collision with an animal, you should do which of the following

31 / 50

You should ____ before backing up

32 / 50


What does this sign indicate?

33 / 50

You should ____ on slippery roads

34 / 50

If you cannot see well with your low-beam headlights on a road with few street lights on a clear night, this action should help

35 / 50

You should ______ when crossing railroad tracks in heavy traffic

36 / 50

A gross vehicle weight rating of how many pounds or more means you are required to have a classified driver license

37 / 50

If your blood alcohol level is at ______ and you are under the age of 21, you are considered to be driving under the influence

38 / 50

____ lines divide traffic moving in the same direction

39 / 50

To not be required to stop for a school bus on a divided highway, there must be an unpaved divider of at least ____ feet

40 / 50

A driver's license will be suspended at what blood alcohol level if the driver is under 21 years old

41 / 50

Except when passing on a road with 3 or more lanes traveling in the same direction, stay to the ___

42 / 50

You should look towards the ______ of the road if a vehicle is approaching you with their high beams on

43 / 50

Your license and registration will be suspended for up to _____ year(s) if you are unable to show proof of insurance under the No-Fault Law.

44 / 50

Which of these is a valid document to prove you have a social security number?

45 / 50

"Transit" is used to indicate _____

46 / 50


This sign is used to indicate:

47 / 50

Federal law requires any male that is between 18 and ____ to meet Selective Service requirements.

48 / 50

The following document proves that you own your vehicle and is necessary to apply for a license plate and register your vehicle.

49 / 50

It is wrong to ______ if you encounter an aggressive driver on the road

50 / 50

You must ____ if a transit vehicle (bus) has signaled and is pulling back onto the roadway

Your score is

The average score is 81%

Below Test Ad Block
4.4/5 - (5 votes)
Quick Links Link Unit

Drivers License

How To Get A Florida Drivers License

The process for getting a Florida’s driver’s license might seem overwhelming at first, but armed with the right information it becomes a lot easier. We’ll point you in the right direction by answering some of the most common questions people have about the state of Florida’s requirements for getting a driver’s license.

How old do you have to be to get a Florida driver’s license? You can apply for a learner’s license, sometimes referred to as a driver’s permit, when you are 15 years old. After holding a learner’s license for one year, a driver is then eligible for a Florida driver’s license. So, the short answer, is you must be 16 years old to have a full-fledged Florida operator’s license.

Can you take the Florida driver’s permit test online? Florida does allow aspiring driver’s to take the learner’s permit test online if they are under the age of 18. The test is accessible by computer or smartphone. A parent is also required to be present during the exam.

Can you take the Florida driver’s permit test online? Florida does allow aspiring driver’s to take the learner’s permit test online if they are under the age of 18. The test is accessible by computer or smartphone. A parent is also required to be present during the exam.

What are the steps for obtaining a learner’s permit in Florida? To earn your learner’s permit you’ll need to pass a driver’s education course that covers traffic laws and drug and alcohol abuse. Beyond that you will need to:

  • Prove your address and identification (birth certificate, passport, etc.)
  • Pass vision and hearing tests
  • Pass the written driver’s permit test
  • Drivers under the age of 18 will need a signed consent form from a parent

What driving restrictions does Florida put on driver’s with a learner’s permit? Holders of Florida driver’s permits have a number of restrictions to when, where, and how they can drive. Permit holders can only drive with a licensed driver in the front passenger seat who is 21 or older. For the first three months, they are only allowed to drive during daylight hours. After three months, they may drive until 10pm. To earn a Florida driver’s license, permit holders must have had 50 hours or driving time recorded, including 10 hours at night. Candidates must not have had any moving violations from one year of receiving their learner’s permit. After passing the Class E driving skill test, it’s just a matter of having a street legal vehicle. This means the vehicle has up to date registration, proof of insurance and has passed inspection.

Pass The Test

How To Pass the Florida Driver's License Test

Preparation is critical if you want to pass the Florida permit test. Your most valuable tool is the Florida driver’s manual. Read the manual thoroughly and make notes of critical pieces of information. Oftentimes you’ll notice these are highlighted, bold, or in larger text. As you read and re-read the manual, you can begin to gauge your progress by taking a Florida DMV practice test like the one available on this site. Record your scores and the dates that you take the test to see how you’re progressing. You can also take our road signs practice test if you want to improve your knowledge of those.

Second Content Inline Ad

Need a Florida driver’s manual?

You can typically pick up a driver’s manual at any Florida driver’s license office. These are available in multiple languages, and they’re free. You can also download the latest manual on the FLHSMV website.

Florida License Frequently Asked Questions

There are three different ways to renew your Florida driver’s license. You can do so online, in person, or through the mail. Required documentation includes proof of ID (license, passport, birth certificate, etc.), social security number, and proof of current address.

For those renewing their license in Florida no additional testing is necessary.

You can reschedule a road test if you fail. The only restriction is that after five failures in a calendar year you will not be allowed to drive until you request approval from the Florida Bureau of Administrative Review Office for another test.

There will always be some variation in what the instructor will place the most value on during the road skills test. That said, some of the more common driving skills that must be demonstrated include:

 

  • Maintaining proper driving position and posture.
  • Demonstrating understanding of right of way.
  • Stopping and proceeding at intersections.
  • Safely parking the vehicle.
  • Maintaining proper following distance in traffic.
  • Safely moving the car while in reverse.

For driver’s with a valid license or permit from another state, no additional testing is required. Bring in your license or permit with a secondary form of identification to a Florida DMV location within 30 days of moving to Florida and you can update to a new license relatively seamlessly.

Additional Information

Information on the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles

To schedule a road test, you’ll need to schedule a time with the local Florida DMV office.

Website: https://www.flhsmv.gov
Phone: 850.617.2000

To find a Florida DMV location near you visit: https://drivingtestsample.com/dmv-locations/florida/

Additional Florida Driving Test & Drivers License Helpful Links

Please use the link below to learn more about helpful topics and forms related to the Florida driver’s license test or other Florida driver’s license related topics.