Driving Test Practice
0 of 50 questions completed
If you’re preparing to take the New Jersey driving test, or you’re looking to work your way through the graduated driver’s license program, you’ll want to study up to make sure you’re prepared. The test is required for all motorists between the ages of 16 and 17. As part of this process, you’ll need to take the NJ permit test and the NJ MVC written test (often referred to as the NJ DMV written test) along with the road skills test to prove you have the safe driving skills to operate a motor vehicle in New Jersey. This website offers up NJ driving test simulations that include multiple-choice questions to help you practice your knowledge of road signs and traffic laws. All of the tests are free and work on both computers and mobile devices, so take them as often as you’d like. These New Jersey practice driving tests can be a valuable component to help you pass your permit test section of the NJ MVC written test. This is the sample passenger vehicle driver’s test for the state of New Jersey. You will be presented with 50 questions and you must answer 40 questions correctly to pass. There is no time limit. You may not go back once you answer a question. Click the “Start Quiz” button below to begin.
You have already completed this test before. You may only take this test once.
Test is loading...
You must sign in or sign up to start this test.
You have to finish the following test before you may take this test:
0 of 50 questions answered correctly
Time has elapsed
You scored 0 of 0 points, (0)
Congratulations! You PASSED the driver’s test! You can try it again to brush up on new questions or head down to your local DMV and take the state-administered test!
Ouch! You need to score at least 80% to pass this driver’s test–that’s 40 correct questions out of 50. Why don’t you try it again and brush up on some of the questions before taking the real thing.
New Jersey Drivers Test
New Jersey Motorcycle Test
New Jersey CDL Test
How To Get A New Jersey Drivers License
The process for getting a New Jersey’s driver’s license is essentially a three stage process of obtaining a Special Learner’s Permit, Probationary License and then a Basic Driver License. While this may initially seem complicated, we can guide you by answering some of the most common questions people have about the state of New Jersey’s requirements for getting a driver’s license.
How old do you have to be to get a New Jersey driver’s license? You can apply for a special learner’s permit when you are 16 years old, once you have enrolled in a licensed driving school. After completing your driver’s education, you will then pass a vision test and your knowledge permit test. You will need to complete 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction with a licensed instructor. Once a person has these steps, they must then wait until they are 17 for the next step for a basic New Jersey drivers license.
After completing your driver’s education, you will then pass a vision test and your knowledge permit test. You will need to complete 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction with a licensed instructor. Once a person has these steps, they must then wait until they are 17 for the next step for a basic New Jersey drivers license.
Can you take the New Jersey driver’s permit test online? You cannot take the New Jersey permit test online. You will need to schedule it and make an appointment for your knowledge test in person after you purchase your examination permit.
What are the steps for obtaining a driver’s permit in New Jersey?
To earn your learner’s permit you’ll need to pass a driver’s education course that covers New Jersey traffic laws and the basics of operating a motor vehicle safely. Beyond that you will need to:
- Provide the requirements documents of your personal identification and address
- Complete and submit form BA-412D
- Pass the written driver’s permit test
- Schedule a Knowledge Test
- Pass a vision test
- Pass the knowledge test
- Pay your $10 fee
- Complete the required 6 hours of driving instruction with a certified and licensed driving instructor
What driving restrictions does New Jersey have for permit holders?
Holders of New Jersey driver’s permits must practice supervised driving for 6 months. Supervised driving has a number of regulations, including:
- Purchase a decal for $4 and display on your front and back license plate
- Not permitted to drive after 11:01 and before 5:00 AM
- Accompanied by an adult, over 21 supervised license driver who possesses a valid New Jersey driver’s license.
- Only parents, guardians, or dependents are allowed as passengers
- Only one additional passenger is permitted
- Cell phones or any wireless device, regardless of it being “hands-free” or not, is not permitted
- Seat belt usage is required
Pass The Test
How To Pass the New Jersey Driver’s License Test
To pass the New Jersey knowledge permit test preparation is essential in the process to obtain your full license. Read the New Jersey driver’s manual. Study the manual and take notes on critical sections. Additionally, take good notes during your driver’s education course. As you study the manual and your notes from driver’s education, you can begin to gauge your progress by taking a NJ permit practice test like the one available on this site. You can also take our road signs practice test if you want to improve your knowledge of those.
Need a New Jersey driver’s manual?
You can find the New Jersey Driver manual, as well as additional resources for teen drivers here on the NJMVC website. These are available in English and Spanish, and they’re free.
New Jersey License Frequently Asked Questions
How do I renew my New Jersey driver’s license?
You can do a same day renewal online for your driver’s license. You can do renew in person. You can do so online, in person, or through the mail. In both instances, you will need a valid Required documentation includes proof of ID (license, passport, birth certificate, etc.), social security number, and proof of current address. There is also an option to renew your drivers license in person. There is a $24 fee.
Do I need to take the written test again when I go to renew my license in New Jersey?
For those renewing their license in New Jersey no additional testing is necessary.
What happens if I fail the New Jersey road test?
You can reschedule a road test if you fail. However, you must wait 14 days to take your road test again.
What skills will I have to demonstrate on the New Jersey road test?
The following skills are commonly a part of the New Jersey driving skills test:
- Driving in reverse
- Stopping at appropriate signs
- Nearing corners or intersections
- Stopping smoothly
- Sitting properly
- Turning around
- Steering properly
- Parallel parking
- Yielding to right-of-way
How does New Jersey deal with out of state licenses and permits for new residents?
For drivers with a valid license or permit from another state, no additional testing is required. Bring in your license or permit with a secondary form of identification to a New Jersey DMV location within 30 days of moving to New Jersey and you can update to a new license relatively seamlessly.
Information on the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
The MVC is responsible for testing student drivers and licensing all drivers. To schedule your licensing examination or get more information contact them via:
To find the location nearest you, please visit:
Additional New Jersey Drivers License Helpful Links
Please use the links below to learn more about helpful topics related to the New Jersey drivers license test or other New Jersey drivers license related topics.