Driving Test Practice
How To Get A Utah Drivers License
In Utah, if you’re younger than 19 years old, you must be a citizen or legal resident and follow the guidelines required by the graduated driver’s license program. You must be 15 years old and apply for your learner’s permit. Once you have applied, enroll in a driver’s education course. Bring a parent or guardian and have them co-sign your application, along with a financial liability form. You have to bring proof of birth, Social Security number, and residence. There is a vision test and a written 50 question knowledge test, and you have to get at least 40 questions correct. There are alternate arrangements like an oral exam, and interpreters available.If you fail your Utah DLD written test, you can retake it as many times as you need with an additional $7.00 fee. There is a $15 non-refundable permit fee that must be paid as well. Next, enroll and complete a driver’s education course. You will also have to drive and document 40 hours with an adult who is over 21 years old and whose license is in good standing. Out of the 40 hours, 10 of them must be at night.You can obtain your unrestricted license once you’ve turned 16 years old, had your permit for a minimum of 6 months, completed your driver’s education course, and completed your driving hours. You will have to pass the Traffic Safety and Trends Exam, and get a 100 percent. You can retake this test as many times as you need to pass without any extra fees. You have to bring proof of your completed driver’s education course, proof of residence, your social security card, your driving log, and your application. There is an additional vision test you have to take, as well as a road skill driving exam if you haven’t taken it through your driver’s education class. The final step is paying the $30 licensing fee.If you’re new to the state, you have to surrender your old license at the Utah DLD and pass a written and vision test. Show proof of residence, your social security card, and your old license. You also have to take the Traffic Safety and Trends Exam and pay a $25 fee.
Pass The Test
How To Pass the Utah DLD Driver's License Test
It can be nerve wracking taking the written knowledge portion of the driving test for the first time. Even if you know the correct answers your nerves might make you second guess yourself and lead to less than stellar results. Follow these tips to help you perform your best on the big day.
- Read the Utah DLD state driver handbook cover to cover. There’s no better way to familiarize yourself with Utah’s traffic laws and road signs than the current year’s state manual. Take notes as you read and become extremely familiar with it.
Second Content Inline Ad
- Take Utah practice permit tests and Utah practice driving tests! Between reading the manual and using practice tests like the ones on this site, you should have your bases covered in terms of the knowledge you need to pass the written knowledge test. If you find there are questions you struggle on, refer back to the driving manual.
- Do everything possible to show up comfortable and relaxed. This means get a good night’s sleep, wear comfortable clothes, and leave early to make sure you’re not rushing to make it to your test. Simple things like these can make all the difference between proving you can be a safe driver and passing the test by reducing your pre-test anxiety.
Utah Department of Public Safety Driver’s License Division
To apply for a Utah driver license, or any other questions you have about motor vehicles or licensing, you can find more information on the Utah DLD website at https://dld.utah.gov/.
To find Utah Department of Public Safey DLD locations, use our branch locator here: https://drivingtestsample.com/dmv-locations/utah/
More Utah Driving Test & Drivers License Helpful Links
Please use the links below to learn more about helpful topics related to the Utah driver’s license test or other Utah driver’s license related topics.
- Utah Driver’s Manual
- Utah Driver’s Training Courses
- Schedule a Utah Permit Test or Skills Test
- Utah Motorcycle Test
- Utah CDL Test
Even More Utah Drivers Tests
We have put together ten additional tests to help you practice for your Utah Driver's License. Click below and get practicing!