Tennessee
Driving Practice Test

Taking a free Tennessee practice driving test can be an excellent aide in helping you prepare for your Tennessee driving permit test or driver’s license written knowledge test. To pass the DMV test you’ll need a firm grasp of how to answer questions on road rules, road signs and signals. Safe driving starts with someone who has the required knowledge to be a good driver. The Tennessee driver’s license test consists of 30 multiple choice questions of which you need to answer 24 correctly to pass. Our free practice Tennessee driving tests below are designed to help you learn all of the necessary driving laws and identify the signs and signals to help you pass your permit and/or driving test in Tennessee. The tests are completely free, so take them as often as you like. There is no time limit.  You may not go back once you answer a question.  Click the “Start Quiz” button below to begin.  Good luck!

Below Test Ad Block

Tennessee Drivers Test

Tennessee Motorcycle Test

Tennessee CDL Test

Quick Links Link Unit

Drivers License

How To Get A Tennessee Drivers License

As soon as you turn 15, you need to visit a TN Department of Safety with your parent or guardian. Have your parent or guardian sign a Tennessee Minor/Teenage Affidavit and Cancellation Form, and show ID. You have to show proof of enrollment in school, along with good attendance. You also have to bring proof of residency, a social security card, and proof of citizenship. You will pass a vision test and a 30 question written knowledge exam, and you have to get 24 or better questions correct. There is a $10.50 fee. If you fail the written exam, you can retake it after seven days, and an additional $2.50 fee The next step is to complete behind-the-wheel training with an adult over 21 years old. You must document 50 hours of driving, with 10 of them being at night.
To obtain your intermediate license, you must be 16 years old and have had your permit for six months. You will sign up for the road skills driving exam and pay a $24.50 fee. You have to bring your documented and signed driving log, proof of citizenship, social security card, proof of car insurance and proof of vehicle registration.
Once you’re 17 years old and you’ve held a valid restricted driver’s license for one year, you’re eligible to get your Tennessee intermediate unrestricted driver’s license. You will need to bring your current intermediate restricted driver’s license, another piece of proof, and a $2.50 license upgrade fee. To obtain a regular unrestricted driver’s license, you must be 18 to apply and pay a $10 license upgrade fee.
If you’re new to the state, you have 30 days to go to your local DMV and apply for a new license. You will have to pass a vision test, and provide proof of residency, proof of legal status, and your social security card. The final step is paying the $28 fee and having your photograph taken.

Pass The Test

How To Pass the Tennessee Driver’s License Test

To pass the written test portion of the Tennessee driver’s license exam, you’ll want to show up to the test comfortable, confident, and prepared. These following tips can help you succeed on your first try.

  • Drill practice tests religiously. This site is free and has a huge list of questions to help you pass the Tennessee driving test, so take them as often as you can. The test works on mobile devices as well, so the test is always available if you can get online.
Second Content Inline Ad
  • Get to know the Tennessee Driver License Manual forward and backward. The current year’s version of the driver license manual for Tennessee will contain virtually everything you need to know to pass your written and skills tests, so read it regularly, take notes, and combine this with your practice tests until you can consistently score well above the required 24 correct answers.
  • Show up rested and relaxed. Get to the testing facility early so you have time to relax and make sure you get a good night’s sleep before the exam so your mind is alert and ready to put up a high score.  

Additional Information

Information on the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security

To apply for a Tennessee driver license, or any other questions you have about motor vehicles or licensing, you can find more information on the Tennessee Driver’s Services website at https://www.tn.gov/safety/driver-services/online.html.

Phone: 615.251.5166

To find Tennessee Department of Safety office hours and/or the location nearest you, use the branch locator on their website here.

 

More Tennessee Driving Test & Drivers License Helpful Links

Please use the links below to learn more about helpful topics related to the Tennessee drivers license test or other Tennessee drivers license related topics.