California
DMV Practice Test

69

Few states offer more to explore than California and having a California driver’s license is one of the keys to enjoying everything the state has to offer. If you want to earn your license you’ll need to pass the California driving test. The test has two parts, a knowledge test and a skills test. In our practice knowledge tests, you will have to answer test questions that are very similar to the official California Driving written knowledge test. You will be presented with 36 questions and you must answer 30 questions correctly to pass. If you are over 18, our California DMV practice test will match the number of questions that you’ll see on the official test. If you are under 18, the official license test you take will contain 46 questions and you’ll need 38 correct answers to pass. To begin your practice test, click the “Start Test” button below.

1 / 36

What is the DMV's standard vision requirement?

2 / 36

What is the maximum speed limit on most of the highways in California?

3 / 36

If you are an out-of-state minor who has taken a driving course outside of the state of California, the state DMV may accept what form to verify your attendance?

4 / 36

You should reduce your speed by half when the road is

5 / 36

How much space should you leave between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you to avoid tailgating?

6 / 36

What conditions should you be aware of when driving on gravel roads?

7 / 36

Tailgating other drivers:

8 / 36

How much space does an airbag need to safely inflate?

9 / 36

Why should you always check for motorcycles before changing lanes?

10 / 36

To make sure you are not driving in a truck's blind spot, you should:

11 / 36

Is talking on your cell phone permitted while driving?

12 / 36

Safe driving requires personal responsibility to use ______

13 / 36

When merging into freeway traffic, who has the right-of-way?

14 / 36

If a street has a center left turn lane, a person should not drive more than _________ in the center left turn lane.

15 / 36

Within 100 feet of a railroad crossing, assuming you cannot see the tracks for 400 feet in both directions, what is the speed limit?

16 / 36

Drivers are required by law to obey instructions from

17 / 36

What are the criteria for an adult to obtain a California license for the first time?

18 / 36

When driving on a multilane street with two way traffic:

19 / 36

If you receive a phone call and you do not have a hands free device what should you do?

20 / 36

Enter a roundabout:

21 / 36

While driving in a center left-turn lane, you may only drive for ____ feet.

22 / 36

When you park facing up a hill and there is no curb, you should turn your front wheels:

23 / 36

You may be considered a "negligent operator" under the Negligent Operator Treatment System if your driving record shows the following "point count" totals:

24 / 36

To sign up to donate your organs and tissue for transplantation upon your death, you should do what?

25 / 36


When you see this sign you should stop and:

26 / 36

Where should you stop your vehicle when there is no limit line or crosswalk?

27 / 36

When are minors allowed to talk on cell phones while driving?

28 / 36

If you are involved in a collision, you should not _____.

29 / 36

Written evidence of financial responsibility is needed:

30 / 36

Out of state drivers over the age of 18 can drive in California as long as they _________.

31 / 36

It is illegal for a person 21 years of age or older to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of __________ or higher

32 / 36

Which of these situations is appropriate to use your horn?

33 / 36

California residents who drive on public highways or use public parking facilities must have a California driver license, unless ______.

34 / 36

Drive into a special "turnout" area if you need to

35 / 36

After an accident, the most important thing you can do to reduce the chances of secondary crashes is:

36 / 36

You are involved in a minor collision at an intersection. No one is injured and the damage is minor, what should you do?

Your score is

The average score is 78%

Below Test Ad Block
3.7/5 - (11 votes)
Quick Links Link Unit

Drivers License

How To Get A California Drivers License

There are certainly some hoops that you need to jump through to get a California driver’s permit or license. While there is some legwork to do to earn your license, it’s not an insurmountable task. We’ll walk you through the necessary steps and documentation to help you get comfortable with the process and ready to hit the road.

What are the age requirements for getting a California instruction permit and driver’s license? You can apply for your permit at age 15 ½ by going to your local California DMV location. At this age, you’ll need to complete a licensed driver’s education course, pass the DMV written knowledge test and pass the vision test to earn an instruction permit.

What are the steps for obtaining an instruction permit in California? For aspiring drivers under the age of 18, they will be required to complete an application. You can receive a permit if a parent or legal guardian signs your driver’s license or ID application. You will also need some documents and information:

  • Proof of insurance
  • Social security number
  • Legal proof of ID - such as a birth certificate or passport
  • Proof of residency

For minors less than 17.5 years old, they will also need to prove that they have completed or are in the process of completing a state-approved driver’s education program. For those between 17.5 and 18 years old, they can obtain an instruction permit without driver’s ed certification, but will still need to turn 18 before they can take the driver’s test to earn their license.

For those who have moved to California after completing driver’s training out of state, California’s DMV will acknowledge the training if the school provides the necessary information on official letterhead, signed by a school official from the California DL33 form.

Pass The Test

How To Pass the California Driver's License Test

Practice makes perfect, and that certainly holds true when it comes to preparing for your driving test. The number one piece of study material you’ll need to spend time with is the California Driver’s Manual. The manual contains everything you’ll need to know to pass the test, but it can be hard to digest so you’ll definitely want to supplement it with other tools. It can be worthwhile to utilize free resources like this site’s California permit practice test, which contains questions similar in format and content to what you’ll see on the official DMV test. As you progress through the driver’s manual, take these practice tests and record your scores to see how you’re progressing. If you’re struggling with questions related to signs, you can try our road signs practice test and work to improve in that area as well.

Second Content Inline Ad

Where to find a California driver’s manual?

Any DMV office should have a free copy on hand for you, or you can also find downloadable copies in a number of languages on the California DMV website here.

California License Frequently Asked Questions

You can renew your license in person at any California DMV location, by mail, or online. There are some stipulations for the latter two options. You can only renew by mail if your license expires in less than 60 days, are under age 70, do not have any current suspensions, and have not had two consecutive mail in renewals. You can renew online if you received a renewal ID number by mail, can pay via credit card, and still have the same address from your previous license.

While some states require additional testing or an eye test during a license renewal, California does not require these unless a physician specifies the need for an eye test.

All is not lost if you fail your first attempt at the road test. California does require that you wait at least two weeks before scheduling your next test, however. You are allowed three attempts to pass the test before the DMV will require you to start the entire application process over again.

More than anything, you need to convince your evaluator that you are a safe and confident driver who can manage a vehicle on your own. Common skills you’ll be expected to demonstrate during your road test typically include:

 

  • Maintaining an acceptable speed - not too fast, and not too slow.
  • Understanding of right of way.
  • Completely stopping and proceeding at intersections.
  • Using proper driving mechanics, like keeping both hands on the wheel.
  • Safely parking the vehicle.
  • Stopping behind crosswalks.
  • Safely moving the car while in reverse.
  • Changing lanes and merging into traffic.

If you have a valid out of state license you have ten days to apply for a California license. If you have a current copy of your license, you can surrender it and you can avoid taking the California driver’s test. If you don’t have your current license, you’ll be required to take the California DMV test.

Additional Information

Information on the California Department of Motor Vehicles

Student testing and licensing in California is handled by the California DMV. Use the information below to contact them for any questions you have about licensing, or scheduling testing and training.

Website:  https://www.dmv.ca.gov
Phone:  800.368.4327

To find the California DMV location nearest you please visit: https://drivingtestsample.com/dmv-locations/california/

 

Additional California Drivers License Helpful Links

The links below can help you answer common questions people have about the California driver’s license test or other California driver’s license-related topics.