New Mexico
Driving Practice Test

To pass the New Mexico driver’s license test you’ll need to correctly answer 18 of 25 multiple-choice questions. This site offers a number of practice tests including:

Whichever test you’re preparing for, it’s important to become accustomed to the types of questions, along with the substance of each test. The general 25 question driving test includes a variety of questions to get you accustomed to the New Mexico state driving laws and also help you identify the state’s road signs. Every test on this site is free and available on computers and mobile devices so feel free to take them whenever and wherever you’d like. Click the “Start Quiz” button below to begin.  Good luck!

Below Test Ad Block

New Mexico Drivers Test

New Mexico Motorcycle Test

New Mexico CDL Test

Quick Links Link Unit

Drivers License

How To Get A New Mexico Drivers License

If you are applying for your first New Mexico driver license and are under age 18, you must go through the New Mexico Graduated Licensing System to get your license, and this is three stages. The stages are an Instructional Permit, Provisional License, and a Full License.

To be eligible for an instructional permit, you must be at least 15 years old and bring proof that you are either enrolled or have completed a state-approved driver education program, and proof of identity like a social security card.

Next, you must pass a vision test and a 40 question knowledge exam with an 80 percent or better, and pay the $10 fee. If you fail, you have to wait 10 days to retake the test, but there is no additional fee. If you need an interpreter, one will be provided. There is also the option to have the test read to you through the computer. You must have your permit for at least six months and in that six months drive with someone who is 21 or older who has been licensed for a minimum of 3 years. You must complete 50 hours of supervised, documented, driving practice, including 10 hours at night, and have a clean driving record for 90 days before moving to step two.
To get a provisional license, a teen must be at least 15 years and 6 months old and have completed Stage one. You must present a ‘Certificate of Completion’ that shows the applicant achieved a passing score from a Driver Education School that includes a 3-hour DWI component and pay the $18 fee. You must hold this license for twelve months. To get your full license, the teen and the parent or guardian must complete and sign a driver license application. You must pay the $18 fee, and have no violations for the past 90 days.
If you are new to the state and 25 years old or over, you must submit proof that you have completed New Mexico’s approved DWI prevention and education program. You must also surrender your old license and pay a renewal fee.

Pass The Test

How To Pass the New Mexico Driver’s License Test

Passing the written test to earn your New Mexico driver’s license or learner’s permit isn’t easy. To pass the test on the first try we recommend following the tips below.

  • Spend as much time as possible with the MVD Driver’s manual as possible (link below). This document contains literally everything you’ll need to know to pass written knowledge test and road test, so immerse yourself in it and you’ll reap the rewards.
Second Content Inline Ad
  • Take every New Mexico practice driving test available. This site offers a huge selection of practice test questions to help you prepare for the New Mexico permit test and MVD driver’s test so use them to your advantage.
  • Take your time as you go through the test. It’s not a race. Pay attention to questions using the terms legal or illegal, right turn or left turn, crosswalk or sidewalk, or any other similar terms that are designed to cross you up. Pay close attention to the wording to make sure you’re answering the question you think you are.  

Additional Information

New Mexico MVD (Motor Vehicle Division)

For information on New Mexico driver’s licenses and testing, as well as information on vehicles and registration, you can find more information on the New Mexico MVD website at http://mvd.newmexico.gov/.

Phone: 888.683.4636

To find New Mexico MVDhours and the location nearest you, you can find those listings on their website at http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/maps-locations.aspx.

More New Mexico Driving Test & Drivers License Helpful Links

Please use the links below to learn more about helpful topics related to the New Mexico drivers license test or other New Mexico drivers license related topics.